top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLesley Joseph

Meet the Blogger

Before you dive into this blog, I want you to know that there is a real person who is writing and curating the content here. I'm not going to hide behind my keyboard or be anonymous as I write. So allow me to introduce myself.


My name is Lesley Joseph. I currently work as an environmental engineering consultant and an adjunct professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of South Carolina. I received my Master's of Science in Environmental Engineering from Johns Hopkins University and my PhD in Civil Engineering from the University of South Carolina. I have done a lot of different things professionally and academically, but I'm not going to bore you with that. (If you want to learn more about those things, click here, or here.)


What is important is that I have a passion for the marginalized, the underserved, the under resourced. The communities that are not treated with dignity and respect. And while there are a lot of different words that could describe who I am or what I want to do, there are only two that are relevant for this blog:

  • I am a Christian. That simply means that Jesus Christ died for me, so I'm going to live for him. Loving my family and caring for the least of these, just to name a couple...

  • I am an Environmental Justice Advocate. I'm not primarily interested in environmentalism or environmental activism in the traditional sense. Think more "Flint , MI water crisis" and less "climate change policy needs to change". I'm here for justice for the oppressed and downtrodden and disregarded, as it relates to the environment (impact to water, air, waste management, energy in these communities).

That's me. That's all I have for you. Faith and Environmental Justice. Advocacy and Action. Awareness and Opinion. That's what you'll be reading if you jump on this blog with me. Hope you enjoy!

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page